The Best Sleep Position during Pregnancy

https://www.google.co.th/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=H0Y7TdsfwfA_5M&tbnid=XWLM7Lag2MP-7M:&ved=0CAQQjB0&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencemediacentre.co.nz%2F2011%2F06%2F15%2Fexperts-respond-maternal-sleep-habits-and-stillbirth-risk%2F&ei=vowMUv2bJomCrAem2IG4Aw&bvm=bv.50768961,d.bmk&psig=AFQjCNEfDfuJbtiBe3vwp3JM63Gf3mpFYg&ust=1376640201891330

Sleeping discomfort is one of the many troubles that pregnant women encounter during the third trimester of pregnancy. I thought I won’t be worrying about that but I was wrong when I reached eight months. My friends tell me I should sleep on my left side because of some reason. I don’t understand why because they could not really tell me why. And every night is an ordeal to sleep conveniently but so what, it will end as soon as the baby comes out! But as I journey through my eight to nine months the discomfort aggravates. So hoping to spot some help online, I searched what’s the best sleep position during pregnancy. My internet finds are quite helpful and worth sharing.

It is best to sleep on the left side. Why? An information below can explain and I think it’s the best of what I have found by far.

The vena cava is a large vein that begins around the area of your belly button. It is the vein that is responsible for bringing all the unoxygenated blood from your lower extremities to you heart. This blood is delivered to the right side of your heart, sent through your lungs to get oxygen, circulates back to the left side of your heart and expresses out to your brain and body. Specifically, it is sending blood to the uterus, which is providing all the blood and oxygen to your baby. Once the uterus and the baby reach a certain size, the vena cava can become compressed when you lay flat, delaying the return of the blood to the heart. If this occurs for a long period of time, it can potentially decrease the blood flow to your baby. However, if the compression is significant, it will also decrease the blood flow to your head and brain, resulting in dizziness symptoms.

spdinpregnancy.com

As for sleeping on your back, avoid that position throughout pregnancy, especially in the later months. Here’s why:

When you’re sleeping on your back, the weight of your uterus lies on the spine, back muscles, intestines, and major blood vessels. This can lead to muscle aches and pains,hemorrhoids, and impaired circulation, which is uncomfortable for you and can reduce circulation to your baby.

Back sleeping can make blood pressure drop, causing some expectant moms to experience dizziness. On the other hand, in some moms-to-be it can make blood pressure go up.

Finally, back sleeping can cause snoring and, with increased weight, could lead to sleep apnea.

So that’s how I know the best way to sleep. I forgot to ask my doctor though about my sleeping problems but I guess this one is already a big help. On my next visit I will definitely inquire about sleeping conditions to confirm everything medically. (I don’t sound paranoid, eh!?!)  😀

Happy blogging and warm wishes to all!

cocogirls

Leave a Reply

